Betfred Cup draw today

Aug 10, 2020

Seeding pots have been confirmed for the Betfred Cup group stage draw, which takes place at 1.00pm today…

The draw will be shown live by Premier Sports via their FreeSports channel. FreeSports is available on Freeview HD channel 64, Sky HD channel 422, Virgin HD 553, TalkTalk 64, BT Vision channel 64 and is also available on the FreeSports Player —

The draw will also be broadcast on the SPFL YouTube channel.

Forty clubs are involved in the draw – the 38 SPFL clubs not participating in Europe plus Highland League champions Brora Rangers and Lowland League winners Kelty Hearts.

The draw will produce eight groups of five teams on a regionalised basis. The four north and four south groups will each be made up of a first seed, a second seed and three unseeded clubs, with seeding based on league positions at the end of season 2019/20.

The eight group winners and four best runners-up will progress to the last 16 on November 28/29, where they will be joined by holders Celtic, Rangers, Motherwell and Aberdeen.

The full group stage fixture list, including Premier Sport TV selections, will be confirmed in due course, with ties to be played on the following dates:

Betfred Cup group stage
MD1: Tuesday October 6
MD2: Saturday October 10
MD3: Tuesday October 13
MD4: Tuesday November 10
MD5: Saturday November 14

North section – first seeds
1 St Johnstone
2 Hibernian
3 Ross County 
4 Heart of Midlothian

North section – second seeds
5 Dundee United
6 Inverness Caledonian Thistle
7 Dundee
8 Arbroath

North section – unseeded teams
9 Raith Rovers
10 Montrose
11 East Fife
12 Peterhead
13 Forfar Athletic
14 Cove Rangers
15 Elgin City
16 Cowdenbeath
17 Stirling Albion
18 Brechin City
19 Brora Rangers
20 Kelty Hearts

South section – first seeds
21 Livingston
22 Kilmarnock
23 St Mirren
24 Hamilton Academical

South section – second seeds
25 Ayr United
26 Dunfermline Athletic
27 Morton
28 Alloa Athletic

South section – unseeded teams
29 Queen of the South
30 Partick Thistle
31 Falkirk
32 Airdrieonians
33 Dumbarton
34 Clyde
35 Stranraer
36 Edinburgh City
37 Queen’s Park
38 Annan Athletic
39 Stenhousemuir
40 Albion Rovers